Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2010, 01:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

does every plug have to be Tamper proof?


We are building a new home in Ontario and want to know if every outlet needs to be tamper proof?

kb2187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Default

does every plug have to be Tamper proof?


What do you mean by tamper proof? Do you have kids that are curious and stick things in the outlet? If so, then you can by safety plug covers at your local home center...

epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 02:20 PM   #3
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,703
Default

does every plug have to be Tamper proof?


Quote:
Originally Posted by epson View Post
What do you mean by tamper proof? Do you have kids that are curious and stick things in the outlet? If so, then you can by safety plug covers at your local home center...

Tamper proof recptacles and the chinsy covers are two totally different things. Many area's have adopted NEC (here in the states) codes that require the tamper proof outlets in new dwellings. Not sure about Canada, but I'm sure on of the very knowledgable pro's here will have the correct answer.
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement plug for an old box freezer brich Electrical 1 05-11-2010 06:44 AM
removed old romex (added new wire) and added a plug doesn't work now? Limit54 Electrical 9 11-08-2009 09:03 PM
Out door plug Red Squirrel Electrical 11 09-06-2009 07:04 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
20 amp plug MikeyP Electrical 6 01-03-2009 09:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.