Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2009, 12:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


I am finishing my basment and there is a post 6 ft off the wall. I would like to remove it. This would make the span 14' 2' could I just add another beam under the on that is there?

gusgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 12:53 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


need a lot more information. What is the bearing above this beam? what are the joist size and spacing?

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


Floor joist are 2x10 16 oc the beam that is already there is made up of 2-2x12 and 2-2x10 This is a 1-1/2 storie house above this is the main floor and second floor.

Last edited by gusgrove; 11-18-2009 at 02:21 PM. Reason: adding information
gusgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


Are the exisiting beams continous - 1 piece arocc this post ?
None of them end on/above the post ?
What is above this beam - floor load, another wall...roof load
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:22 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


it is one piece
gusgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


There are 4 pieces all together?
Why different sizes ?
Do the beams run in different directions supporting different loads?
A picture would help
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


above this floor are two rooms withe wall over the beam and over that is one room from the 1/2 story
gusgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:28 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


the beam is all one combine unit the 10" pieces are on the out side which the joist are nail to with a 2x4 leger under that

Last edited by gusgrove; 11-18-2009 at 03:34 PM.
gusgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 05:08 PM   #9
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,141
Default

Do you have to replace the beam


In order to size a beam, you need a dimensioned sketch of the space, and you need to know ALL of the loads the beam will support. The actual sizing of the beam is typically done by an engineer or an architect. In some cases, the supplier of the beam, usually a lumber yard if you go with wood, or a steel fabricator if you go with steel, will design the beam for you and include the design cost in the cost of the beam.

The required details include the specific connections required between the beam and existing structural elements. You may also need details for temporary supports required to hold up the house while the new beam is installed.

In some cases, you may be able to increase the capacity of an existing beam by adding on to the beam, possibly using wood or steel plates. This type of augmentation is typically designed by an engineer or an architect.

So the answer to your original question as to whether you "can just add another beam under the one that is there" is that the entire structural support system must be designed by a qualified professional. Anyone on this forum foolish enough to design the system for you over the internet and assume responsibility for the outcome should be ignored.

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crawl Space Beam and Joist Support Questions Fire4Effect Building & Construction 5 06-28-2009 01:07 PM
Replace Main Beam in different location? jrdamien Carpentry 5 01-10-2009 01:13 PM
Q:Temp support to replace beam and posts on deck dougq Building & Construction 10 09-02-2008 04:24 PM
Beam Replacement? Steve Dailey Carpentry 5 05-19-2008 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.