Do I Have To Build To Code? - Building & Construction - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2013, 11:22 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Do I have to build to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daugela View Post
The code for basement egress is a ladder from a window well. I didn't build the house but assume the ladder attached to this "oversized" window well was suffice. Why wouldn't it be? This is essentially a window well but the previous owner went one step further and put in a door.
"Why wouldn't it be?" What size is the window? How high above the ground is the bottom of the window opening? How wide is the door opening? Here, these things would determine if the setup satisfies egress requirements. The dimensions of the well may also come into play. Don't know about that or ladder requirements since I don't have a basement.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:58 AM   #17
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Do I have to build to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daugela View Post
That's interesting. With this info, I wonder if the stairs could comply with the above ladder/rung dimensions. If the steps ARE NOT REQUIRED to comply with the R311.5-.6, then what are they to comply with?
in my area ladders are ladders and stairs must comply with the minimum tread depth and maximum riser height. the two cannot be mixed.

as many others have said, ask the building official.
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 10:59 AM   #18
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,796
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Do I have to build to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daugela View Post
That's interesting. With this info, I wonder if the stairs could comply with the above ladder/rung dimensions. If the steps ARE NOT REQUIRED to comply with the R311.5-.6, then what are they to comply with?

The inspector could always say my well is so big, it's not considered a window well and therefore would need to comply with 311.5. I guess I need to ask. I would hate to build it, invest the money to only find out it would pass inspection.
Most egress window wells I've installed have stepped/terraced panels in the back for egress, typically 16-18" tall (riser) and 4-6" deep (tread). They're perfectly legal for egress. As other's have stated though, check with your local inspection dept. first........
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 12:43 PM   #19
Member
 
cortell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 708
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Do I have to build to code?


Seems clear-cut to me. That is without a doubt a window well (granted, larger than most). IRC says steps in window wells are excluded from the width requirements of standard stairways. So, your concern of being 1" short of code is unwarranted, since that code requirement does not apply in this situation. Note that the window well exception does not apply to tread and riser requirements, as GBrackins has basically pointed out. Those requirements are safety-critical--not meeting them would create a significant tripping hazard.

That said, like politics, code is mostly local. There is a possibility more restrictive codes apply to your area. But at least from a national code perspective, it seems clear to me you're in the clear (pun intended).

Advertisement

cortell is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cortell For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (12-16-2013), Daugela (12-16-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting proximity to outdoor hot tub - Code Question jeffinpickering Electrical 0 09-12-2011 02:43 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 07:14 PM
error code 45 Turtle learner HVAC 2 01-10-2011 05:09 PM
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 11:36 PM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 08:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts