Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?


Hi all, first time poster and a DIY noob here. I've been thinking about building an AV cabinet that would be housed underneath my existing staircase landing. After doing some preliminary inspection, I found a stud that would need to be moved to accomodate the design. Would appreciate any insight on the following:

1. This stud doesn't appear to be load bearing to me. Perhaps it's there for lateral support?
2. Is this as easy as installing another header and two jack studs on either side of my proposed AV cabinet?

Here is a picture from inside the stairs with the stud in question outlined in red. The second picture is of the stairs with the proposed cabinet design and the same stud overlayed with really bad photoshop. The cabinet would go in the middle square.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?-img_0292b.jpg   DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?-img_0287b.jpg  


Last edited by frzamilan; 07-16-2012 at 02:15 PM.
frzamilan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?


Looks like that stud was just to help support the dry wall. It's not really supporting anything else.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:32 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,534
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?


Agreed with Joe
edit.... the OP said adding another header (to three 2x4's) plus adding two jack studs on either side of new a/v cabinet. But then that would mean the two new studs would have to go all the way to the floor
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 07-16-2012 at 04:07 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 03:20 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,584
Rewards Points: 2,496
Default

DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?


If you remove that stud the stairs will fall and the stud police will be all over you house.........

Yea....like joe said....it's your typical 16" OC studd to support the drywall...it looks like you have a ridge joist/header above that top plate to support the stair platform.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 03:55 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

DIY rookie: Can I move this stud?


Thank you all.
frzamilan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many holes can I drill into a wood stud? lostintyme Building & Construction 8 02-28-2012 08:26 PM
When to replace rotted stud vs. epoxy ken57 Building & Construction 4 11-08-2011 07:48 AM
Toggle bolt through stud? djgrant Carpentry 16 09-25-2011 07:41 PM
Steel Stud Device Box Installation tjames Electrical 3 09-15-2011 12:30 PM
Need to move stud in finished partition wall juengl4 Building & Construction 7 02-18-2011 09:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.