Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-25-2011, 12:35 PM   #1

Share |

Digging basement in a crawl space

Does anybody know if there is a required amount of space that should be left next to an existing footer when digging a basement in a crawl space so as to not undermine the existing footing? I live in Greenville, SC and am a framer by trade so I am familiar with construction but not dont have any knowledge it this peticular area.

jjjohnson81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:49 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

I would get a soil engineer in to see if it will work, and then work with an architect to help draw up the plans. The worst thing that you would want, is the home coming down on you, when the foundation & footers give out. Plus you would have to put in Oak cribbing to support the structure along with lifting it if needed.

Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:57 PM   #3

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074

The general rule of thumb is to keep the bottom of the excavation 12"away from the footing for every 12" below the bottom of the footing.

Think of it as the load from the footings spreads out at a 45 degree line from the edge of the bottom of the footings. You do not want to dig the the area on the footing side of the 45 degree line.

Dick
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 02:30 PM   #4

You scare me

I HOPE that noone comes on here and ends up with a house on top of them, or burnt because of something you told them.