Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-25-2006, 04:07 PM   #1
oar

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

design software

Folks,

I want to build a house and design it myself to some degree.
I need some software to visualize the design, not necessarily to produce blueprints.

Visualization does not need to be overly sophisticated.

There are two possibilities:

100 USD Punch software (HDA 4000), will not draw blueprints, apparently
has some problems designing roofs.

1100 USD Chief Architect 10.0 (base) will draw blueprints and is probably
fully competent in all respects.

I have no experience with CAD software but have had to do with complicted software elsewhere (software development environments) and have lots of time so I believe I should be able to master the software at some point.

My question is as follows:

With the more expensive program can I save enough on the services of the architect to justify the higher price.

Construction would be owner builder, slab on grade, surface bonded CMUs possibly autoclaved airated concrete blocks. Can the more expensive software draw blueprints and make materials lists for this type of construction?

What would you suggest?

Last edited by oar; 11-25-2006 at 04:16 PM.
oar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2006, 04:44 PM   #2

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Rewards Points: 14

design software

If you are doing a "design it yourself" and "build it yourself" home, do not use a computer program. Spend your time, money and efforts on learning about construction instead of looking for something to give you a theoretical solution that YOU will have to bring to completion.