Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-27-2012, 05:20 AM   #1

Share |

Deck Posts Slipping Off Slabs - Help? (Pictures included)

I moved into a new (to me) house and found that due to the freeze/thaw here in Maine that over the last 15 years the deck posts have shifted. [See pictures attached]. One is about to fall off the 12" concrete pad. I want to dig new holes and use 4' sonotubes with concrete and attach the posts to that.

I'm a DIY newbie (first home). Any tips? Does that sound like the right way? I don't know if there was wisdom in not bolting the deck posts to the concrete or whether it was just being quick about doing the job.

Any and all tips/help/suggestions would be much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Deck Posts Slipping Off Slabs - Help? (Pictures included)-photo-aug-27-6-06-45-am.jpg   Deck Posts Slipping Off Slabs - Help? (Pictures included)-photo-aug-27-6-07-12-am.jpg   Deck Posts Slipping Off Slabs - Help? (Pictures included)-photo-aug-27-6-07-00-am.jpg  
Attached Images

maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:07 AM   #2

Well that was done wrong... I'm no expert, but you may have to support the whole thing and re-do each of those footers and put in a metal post in the cement hold the posts in place.

The woods posts should never touch the concrete footer.

Are those footers even in the ground or just laying on top of the soil???

Oh my god, I just looked again. Look at picture 1 (top left). Its just a 4x4 under the joist holding that up. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT walk on there until you get this fixed. The top if coming off the joists and the bottom is coming off the footer!!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: