Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-13-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
It's all good fun.

Rewards Points: 10

Deck Post repair

Hi all. I've just bought a house and I know that one of the deck posts has been repaired incorrectly. The deck posts are sunk into the concrete pier. And since one of the posts has been damaged (I assume rot), the post was cut at about 12" above the top of the pier. They have used a splint on either side of the 6x6" post to lock the new supporting post in place. Apparently this is a hinge joint and is not according to code.

Does anyone have any experience with these kinds of repairs. Is it possible to retrofit rebar or drill out the 6x6" in the pier and back-fill with concrete and add a j-bolt ?

Really I want the least labor intensive fix possible without loosing structural integrity. If it needs lots of labor, so be it, but as I have no experience with decks, all info is good.

Thanks.

BTW, please PM me if possible.

Last edited by HobbyMan; 07-13-2012 at 11:23 PM. Reason: spelling
HobbyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 11:54 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Deck Post repair

I think I understand what you're saying, but a photo would help immensely.

CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:14 AM   #3
It's all good fun.

Deck Post repair

Will do once I get up to the house and get settled in. I know this is an issue from doing the inspection on the house before buying.

In essence you have a pier with a 12" 6x6 post sticking out of it. It has been cut level. On top of this is the new 6x6 post that has been mounted on top. On 2 sides, (opposite each other), there is a 2x6 nailed to both the upper and lower 6x6's (think of a splint when you break your arm/leg, similar thing here where the leg is comprised of the top and bottom bone and the knee is where the join is). The 2x6 splints are about 10" long.