DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Building & Construction (http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/)
-   -   Deck opinions. (http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/deck-opinions-164481/)

NiNe O 11-23-2012 07:58 PM

Deck opinions.
 
I am about to finish this thing within the next week.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8067/8...229d2dc2_z.jpg

woodworkbykirk 11-23-2012 09:40 PM

and???????

md2lgyk 11-24-2012 07:02 AM

The title of your thread indicates you'd like opinions. I think the deck is as ugly as a mud fence, but that's just my opinion. Can't tell from the picture if it's built correctly.

NiNe O 11-24-2012 07:08 AM

Damn. What do you find ugly about it?

oh'mike 11-24-2012 07:41 AM

Looks good from here------opinions are ---well, opinions---

NiNe O 11-24-2012 07:50 AM

It was a tough design, the old deck had a pretty big cherry tree in the middle of it but the original builder/previous homeowner didn't give the tree enough room to grow and eventually the deck choke off the tree and it died before I bought this place. Well, I wanted to get some shade back on the deck do I decided to build this pergola. However, with 2.5' overhangs on the house, I decided to center post build this thing.

Fix'n it 11-24-2012 07:50 AM

i think that is a darned nice looking deck.

can i have your fire wood ?

kwikfishron 11-24-2012 07:50 AM

I think it looks OK, defiantly unique. What I don’t like are the centered post, there is no way to brace those sections in the other direction. Structurally that’s a poor design imo.

woodworkbykirk 11-24-2012 07:58 AM

way too top heavy and the pergol is far too overpowering takes away from the house itself..
its should accent it not dominate it

NiNe O 11-24-2012 07:59 AM

it is, I am thinking of incoporating a bar and some other built-in things to support the outsides and removing the angle supports to the posts. It's become a challenge.

joecaption 11-24-2012 08:17 AM

May want to concider changing those supports to something that looks more like this.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...CF6C&first=868

Some wider 2X's cut out with a bandsaw or jig saw and cleaned up with a belt sander would be needed. Then it would be an area of interest not a sore thumb.
With the arch you would also gain a small amout of head room as you move around on the deck.

NiNe O 11-24-2012 08:27 AM

Thanks Joe. That's a great idea.

kwikfishron 11-24-2012 08:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NiNe O (Post 1059084)
Thanks Joe. That's a great idea.

That still isnít going to help with lateral support in your situation. Those things are going to move big time in high winds.

joecaption 11-24-2012 08:42 AM

Looks like you may have just attached the rafters to the post by just bolting them to the sides of the post.
Would have been far better to have cut out the sides an 1-1/2 so the rafters where resting on the post. It makes a big differance in how stable it is doing it that way.
Right now you have a pivit point.

NiNe O 11-24-2012 09:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kwikfishron (Post 1059089)
That still isnít going to help with lateral support in your situation. Those things are going to move big time in high winds.

Actually, we've had 50+ mph winds, doesn't move a bit. We won't see anything stronger than that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved