Deck Framing - Beams On Top Of Footing (not Enough Space For Post) - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-30-2010, 09:14 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Deck Framing - Beams on top of footing (not enough space for post)

Hi All, I am a newbie trying to build a deck (no experience).

The deck that I am planning to build is only 23" above ground. It will be a floating/free standing deck. I am using Azek deck boards (1" thick), 2X10 PT joist on top of two 2X10 PT beam. The footing will be concrete 11" diameter, 48" below grade to protect from the Canadian weather.

The deck board and joist and beams will add to 19.5" inches. Factoring in 1" for post stand off, the overall height is 20.5" leaving only 2.5'(23" less 20.5"=2.5"), which I believe is not enough for a post.

How can I address the gap of 2.5"? Can I make the concrete footing to be above ground by 2.5" and then attach a post base connector to the footing and then attach/rest the beam on the post base?

I was planning to use the Simpson ABU66 post connector for attaching the beam to the footing. Is this the right one?

Thanks for your guidance.

Advertisement

Maatoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 09:34 AM   #2
Framing Contractor

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maatoy View Post

How can I address the gap of 2.5"? Can I make the concrete footing to be above ground by 2.5" and then attach a post base connector to the footing and then attach/rest the beam on the post base?
Yes, you can. You can also use a flush beam and joist hangers for the joists. This will give you room for posts if you want. Raising the footing is easier. Make sure they are perfect.

Advertisement

Maatoy (05-30-2010)
Old 05-30-2010, 12:53 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 25