Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 10:01 PM   #1
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Share |
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


Can you cut one leg from a V in a rafter then reinforce with vertical studs to allow for a supply run?
Attached Thumbnails
Cutting a truss for supply run?-truss-changes.jpg  

shuship is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:07 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


That's not engineered wood is it? You need a structural engineer to determine that.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:12 PM   #3
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


I would like to cut one leg from a 'V' of a rafter in my basement to reroute a supply vent. Can I do this without compromising the integrity of the structure?

see pic please....
Attached Thumbnails
Cutting a truss for supply run?-truss-changes.jpg  
shuship is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:15 PM   #4
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
That's not engineered wood is it? You need a structural engineer to determine that.
Yes, it is engineered wood. Has anyone come across this issue?
shuship is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:24 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


You're talking to him. You cannot cut engineered wood with out compromising
it's integrity. You'll weaken that entire section...may even cause it to break loose and cave in. The truss is designed as a single unit. Cut it any where and and it'll weaken and come down like a house of cards.

You should bring this up in the carpentry or building and construction forum....I'll be watching .
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 12-02-2008 at 10:27 PM.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:33 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


whew! that was getting uncomfortable for awhile. Glad you broke the tension nice job
burr is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:34 PM   #7
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


Quote:
Originally Posted by burr View Post
whew! that was getting uncomfortable for awhile. Glad you broke the tension nice job
you're welcome...
shuship is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:55 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


He's on the WATCH list, burr
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 11:49 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


The trusses are designed to spread the weight across the trusse, not just in a downward direction.
If you scab it, it won't spread the weight, and you will have a trusse failure.
The failure will cause damage to the walls of the room its supporting. And to anything, or anyone under it at the time.

If you alter your trusse/trusses like that. When your failure occurs. You insurance will probably NOT cover the damage.
Since its not caused by accident, or normal fatigue.
beenthere is online now  
Old 12-03-2008, 12:00 AM   #10
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The trusses are designed to spread the weight across the trusse, not just in a downward direction.
If you scab it, it won't spread the weight, and you will have a trusse failure.
The failure will cause damage to the walls of the room its supporting. And to anything, or anyone under it at the time.

If you alter your trusse/trusses like that. When your failure occurs. You insurance will probably NOT cover the damage.
Since its not caused by accident, or normal fatigue.
Do you have any ideas of how I may go about rerouting the lines without having to build a soffit? Plans are to install a drop, but would like to keep as much headroom as possible. Thanks again for your help.
shuship is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 12:09 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


How much of a drop.
beenthere is online now  
Old 12-03-2008, 01:26 AM   #12
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


beenthere - sorry for the delay. no more than 4" if thats possible.

Can you look at this pic and see where the truss was engineered with the cutouts I have in mind of doing?

shuship is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 03:41 AM   #13
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


If you are only cutting one you would be fine.
__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 03:46 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


Key phrase is, Engineered.
That trusse has an engineers stamp of aproval to support X amount of weight at X amount of deflection.
And not snap, crap or pop.

Once altered, you change how it will disperese weight.

You'd be supprised at all the bull there is just to cut a 6" round hole in a dang I=joist.
beenthere is online now  
Old 12-03-2008, 03:52 AM   #15
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Default

Cutting a truss for supply run?


Tazin - I plan to only cut one leg per truss, but in order to complete the run, I need to cut a series of 5 on one side of the preexisting trunk supply line and three on the other. Feasible? I've posted pics of what I'm trying to complete.

Attached Thumbnails
Cutting a truss for supply run?-basementhvac.jpg  

shuship is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting Duct ADKstorm HVAC 10 01-23-2011 01:30 AM
2nd story ledger to floor truss fisherk Carpentry 1 10-18-2008 12:08 PM
Cutting Board DaveSteel Carpentry 1 02-21-2008 09:38 AM
Gambrel Truss Dormer and Ladder Framing? fauer Carpentry 3 09-30-2007 07:36 PM
Roof truss sprung wireliner Carpentry 3 01-08-2007 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.