Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2008, 02:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


We own a very old house and even though it is old it does have a basement. However the basement isn't high enough for me to stand up in it. Under the original house there's about 5' of room to the floor joists (I'm 6'3"). Under the addition the ceiling height is about 6'5" to the joists.

The floor is poured concrete. The walls are flagstone or some form of flat stone with a plaster-type covering.

This is one of those projects I'd love to already have done so I could utilize the basement as useable space but don't know if it's really something I'd ever invest in. I've seen it done on This Old House, but is it something that's possible anywhere?

Any thoughts on a process on how you would go about it? Anyone have experience with this?

Weekend Warrior DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 03:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


what you didn't see on toh was the stamped drawings by a licensed professional - either architect or engineer.

your 1st step's calling either impo,,, even when we replaced our stone fnd w/conc under our 1860s home, we had drawings stamped & approved prior to pulling the permit,,, since i did it myself w/friends' help, i couldda sued myself if it weren't right

in other words, this is a very serious project & above the capability of an above-avg h/o-diy-er.

friends = 2 house movers w/steel beams & jacking systems; 1 conc fnd specialist; 1 architect; 1 structural engineer; & 1 local beer distributor

yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 03:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


Quote:
Originally Posted by yes.itsconcrete View Post
what you didn't see on toh was the stamped drawings by a licensed professional - either architect or engineer.

your 1st step's calling either impo,,, even when we replaced our stone fnd w/conc under our 1860s home, we had drawings stamped & approved prior to pulling the permit,,, since i did it myself w/friends' help, i couldda sued myself if it weren't right

in other words, this is a very serious project & above the capability of an above-avg h/o-diy-er.

friends = 2 house movers w/steel beams & jacking systems; 1 conc fnd specialist; 1 architect; 1 structural engineer; & 1 local beer distributor
"One Local Beer Dist." Now isn't that the truth.

See I wasn't going to replace the existing foundation, I just thought about cutting out some of the existing floor, leaving a 1'+ border of the exisiting floor around the perimeter.

I agree 100% with consulting an engineer and having drawings drawn up. This is a semi-pipedream for me. It'd end up being my man cave, work out room and work shop.

When you and your friend's did it, I'm assuming you just used a concrete saw, sledges, wheelbarrels and lots of backbreaking work?

Do you have any pictures?
Weekend Warrior DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 05:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


To break up the floor, cut a hole with masonry saw or a hammer drill. Once, its open undermine the next section by digging under it. Then, hit with a sledge hammer to break that section away.
Undermine and whack, under mine and whack!
Once the floor is removed, excavate down to the level that you require, being careful not go too close to the supporting wall footings!
Then a section of earth of about 4 feet is removed from under the wall. A form is placed in front and the undermined area is filled with concrete.
Skipping 4 feet, repeat the procedure around the perimeter.
When you have completed the whole distance around, come back and start to support the skipped areas.
When the walls are complete, pour a new floor!

My advice would be to sell and buy elsewhere!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


In addition to the issues mentioned above, you would have to worry about any underground plumbing which may be right under the concrete slab. Lower the basement floor and you may have an issue with having to lower the sanitary sewer exiting the house. If there isn't enough pitch where it leaves the house, it might not be possible to lower it.

The project would be pretty expensive space for a man cave. You could easily build a garage for the kind of money you are talking about.
__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 06:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


all the guys were good friends but, yes, tony was special

our house sat on a laid-up stone foundation w/o footer as was common when it was built,,, we used about 20 18"x40 i-beams + nec cribbing/blocking, 60 (?) 50t jacks, & 2 bobcats but that was just to life the house 1/2" & dig/pour new footer, fnd walls, & floor which we projected would allow a 8' ceiling height,,, in the days before we had massive h/d's on computers, we took REAL pictures - NO idea where they are unless the ex would ransom them

yes, lots of backbreaking but satisfying work - when i was a younger man
yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:08 AM   #7
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


Quote:
Originally Posted by yes.itsconcrete View Post
all the guys were good friends but, yes, tony was special

our house sat on a laid-up stone foundation w/o footer as was common when it was built,,, we used about 20 18"x40 i-beams + nec cribbing/blocking, 60 (?) 50t jacks, & 2 bobcats but that was just to life the house 1/2" & dig/pour new footer, fnd walls, & floor which we projected would allow a 8' ceiling height,,, in the days before we had massive h/d's on computers, we took REAL pictures - NO idea where they are unless the ex would ransom them

yes, lots of backbreaking but satisfying work - when i was a younger man
back breaking work. I sure can remember those days. I also did the same thing, dug down under the existing footer undermined it formed a wall and on each end of the forum I nailed a piece of 2"x2" ridged foam to form a key way. then installed 3 #5 re bars into the form and had them stick out of the form to tie everything together. the killer was We mixed the concrete out of two wheel barrows using the sand that came out of the hole. Added 3/4" stone with the mix. now my ceiling height is 8'-6" I also installed a french drain under the floor before we poured that. that was when I was in my early 30'S. It can be done. BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 04:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


still remember my early 30s,,, gawda'mighty, hope i don't EVER repeat 1/2 the stuff i did back then

doubtful i ever mix'd that much conc by hand, tho
yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 04:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


contact a local basement floor lowering contractor and get a quote and ask lots of questions then contact your local municipality to see if you need a permit. as long as you don't disturb the foundation walls and their footings you may be able to remove the existing floor then pour a new one at a lower level. it may depend on what type of footings exist under your existing foundation and how thick they are because your new floor must be at least above the bottom of your existing footings. just don't hit your water supply, drain lines or other.
mattedfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 05:48 PM   #10
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


Quote:
Originally Posted by yes.itsconcrete View Post
still remember my early 30s,,, gawda'mighty, hope i don't EVER repeat 1/2 the stuff i did back then

doubtful i ever mix'd that much conc by hand, tho
I wish I was 30 Again and know what I know now.But these bones are starting to scream at me now...
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 05:53 PM   #11
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,817
Rewards Points: 2,122
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


Remember - The old stone foundation did the job well because there was a slab to keep the walls and footing from coming in.

Removing the slab and going deeper is a big difference since the load goes up dramatically with each additional foot of depth.

Even good contractors installing interior drain tile will not remove a slab completely, but but leave segments to restrain the outer walls. Most codes require about 4" of concrete slab on the wall footing to keep the wall in place.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 06:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cutting through basement floor...


only occasionally, dick,,, usually we'd cut the full perimeter on floating slabs but we did bridge monopours/unipours, of course.

there's too much soil engineering on this job for me - my house was much easier - lift it - drive under, scoop, drive out, dump, repeat

yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laminate or vinyl on a concrete basement floor? pjpjpjpj Flooring 36 09-03-2012 02:37 PM
R & R basement floor ? SAGENT Building & Construction 6 10-26-2008 01:55 AM
Basement floor always wet chrisj Remodeling 8 08-27-2008 10:04 PM
Basement 2x2 furring strips, basement clutter, top plate not attached to floor joists touchsuhas Remodeling 5 12-26-2007 07:01 PM
waterproof basement floor?? patnshan Remodeling 3 09-07-2006 02:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.