Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2012, 11:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Cut or remove vapour barrier to run electrical/plumbing?


New member here looking for some insight on my first basement reno.

The house we moved into is brand new and the frost/perimeter walls of the basement are properly studded, insulated and poly'd. The builder even sealed the bottom with acoustical sealant and properly tuck taped.

My issue is now that I want to run my electrical and some plumbing I'm not sure hot to best remove the poly? I don't want to make more work than I have to, so I was thinking of just cutting the poly horizontally at the middle and folding the bottom portion down, run my electrical/plumbing, then pull it back up and tuck tape the seam.

Does this sound reasonable?

Pics of what it looks like right now. I just finished installing the subfloor last weekend.







Last edited by hpsguy; 11-30-2012 at 11:38 PM.
hpsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Default

Cut or remove vapour barrier to run electrical/plumbing?


If it were me, I would try to run as much plumbing/elec in the joist space and drop vertically down into the stud space when needed instead of running horizonatally around the perimeter. Cut the VB down the center and retape after the rough work is completed. Caulk where the pipe/wire penetrates the top plate.

__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:00 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 407
Default

Cut or remove vapour barrier to run electrical/plumbing?


I wouldn't lose time trying to work around the plastic and insulation. I would remove the barrier at least a foot away from the highest drilling, wiring, plumbing, blocking that I have to do. Put a new barrier, overlapping 6 inches and tape. Butt jointing the barrier is too flimsy to press in the tape.

Electric is going in, so you need to think about the fire blocking from the ceiling to the floor above. Minimum 2" mineral wool in my area.
carpdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 09:49 AM   #4
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,652
Default

Cut or remove vapour barrier to run electrical/plumbing?


I would pull it down and re do. the insulation has to come down also to allow access into the stud bays... that is real nice of the builder to insulate but he did not plan it out in the order that is needed to be done.. probably needed it up to pass inspection and move on
hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 10:32 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Cut or remove vapour barrier to run electrical/plumbing?


Well the plumbing will be a single drop from a beam so its pretty much just the electrical that I'll have to think about. I plan on having 3 different main areas in the basement and was looking to put each area on its own circuit. I could do drops for the further ones through the joists. Running new poly isn't the end of the world I just didn't want to make more work than I have to.
hpsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 10:51 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,040
Default

Cut or remove vapour barrier to run electrical/plumbing?


As said above run electrical in the ceiling and drop it into the walls. Cut Poly on the center of the needed stud. pull insulation in that stud bay. nail on your box and wire with poly wrapped around box (or premade poly box wraps) Put insulation back, restaple poly, tape with red plastic tuck tape used for housewrap.

mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vapour Barrier - Full Wrap OR 1 Piece Per Wall Dreams Insulation 3 01-27-2012 11:12 PM
Vapour barrier Josh A Insulation 11 10-18-2011 09:49 PM
Condensation inside wall on vapour barrier rovers1973 Building & Construction 1 05-14-2010 10:00 PM
Installing New Electrical Outlet - Vapour Barrier WhIsKeY Electrical 4 12-31-2009 11:08 AM
Drylock, Typar and Vapour barrier? fubar79 Building & Construction 5 11-06-2009 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.