Craftsman 1hp 4 Gal Air Compressor - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2011, 05:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Craftsman 1hp 4 Gal Air Compressor


My compressor can reach 50 psi and that's it. The air intake filter is clean but when running it seems to be pushing air out instead of taking it in. Could this be a faulty reed valve? Can it be repaired or does the compressor need to be replaced? Please help!!!!!

Advertisement

david cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:18 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,830
Rewards Points: 2,294
Default

Craftsman 1hp 4 Gal Air Compressor


Quote:
Can it be repaired or does the compressor need to be replaced?
Ayuh,... If yer pretty Handy, I believe Sears sells all the parts,...

Otherwise,...
Toss it to the Recyclers, 'n get a New 1....

Advertisement

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Craftsman 1hp 4 Gal Air Compressor


So I took off the compressor head to find a blue residue, somewhat sticky like paint. The reed valves look good with though they have that blue gook on them. Could the compressor have picked up some blue sanding dust from my bike? Is there some way to wash this stuff out w/o harming the compressor? Help me to rescue this thing???
david cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 11:33 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Craftsman 1hp 4 Gal Air Compressor


Well, I finnally found my problem. It was a blown head gasket. I made a new set (2 required) and now its working just fine.
david cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Craftsman 1hp 4 Gal Air Compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by david cash View Post
Well, I finnally found my problem. It was a blown head gasket. I made a new set (2 required) and now its working just fine.
Amazing how this chatroom helps!
mrgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bogged-down Craftsman compressor spavined Tools 14 03-05-2010 06:13 PM
Craftsman Air Compressor -- Getting Lazy!!! ShortOnLuk Tools 5 11-19-2009 05:22 PM
Craftsman air compressor blowing breaker Frankenberry Electrical 38 10-10-2009 08:02 PM
Craftsman Air Compressor not pressurizing slingshot Tools 5 09-15-2009 08:10 AM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 09:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts