Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-08-2011, 11:27 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Cost of a small 2 story addition

I am begining to cost estimate what it will come to if I dare make the endevor to remodel my small lakeside home.

I am a landscape architect and work with pool/landscape firm so my cost are hopefully going to be less than what the norm would be.

I have already been quoted a cost of 1500 to pour my concrete pad (with pump rental)

It is a 14x22' space. I will have on the lower level 1 large room, and staircase. The upper space will be one large suite. I am really worried about it being framed out. I can sheetrock and spackle. My father inlaw is an electrician.

So my real costs ar:

concrete pad,
studding and farming,
new roof and siding
6 new windows

If anyone can help me ball park this I'd love some thoughts. I really cannot for with my discounts i can get this done for less than 100 a square foot, well im trying to atleast.

mattmean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 11:59 AM   #2

Useful estimates will occur when you hand the plans to onsite contractors who can see exactly what the job entails.
Internet supposition is useless.

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
AndyGump (08-08-2011), VIPlumber (08-08-2011)
Old 08-08-2011, 12:09 PM   #3

Thanks for not helping at all. I asked for a ball park, telling me the obvious way to exqct quotes doesnt help.

For exmaple if u want a guestimate at what a good per squafe foot cost of doing a paver patio. I would say 8-10 dollars per sf. Thats all im asking. If there are rough guildlines for sf cost on siding/framing, I'd love to know.
Old 08-08-2011, 12:13 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 50