Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-15-2012, 11:26 PM   #1

Share |

Converting a Pole Barn

I have a 25x30 pole barn type building that I am looking to convert into a more suitable workshop. This will entail a concrete floor and stick walls. It currently is very solidly built in pole barn style. It has heavy guage metal as the only barrier between the inside and the outside. After pouring inside, I would potentially like to have a concrete walk/ patio that would span the 10 feet between the house and the workshop on one side. I have plenty of experience pouring and finishing concrete on new projects, but I have a couple of questions on this scenario: 1. Can I use the existing metal siding as a form to pour the floor inside the shop? 2. If so, when I go to pour concrete on the outside, will leaving the metal siding as a barrier between the two be a problem? 3. There is a great deal of conflicting information about pouring concrete in direct contact with the existing 6"x6" supports for the building?

Thank you for the suggestions.

rooster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:45 PM   #2

Converting a Pole Barn

I myself do not like concrete coming into contact with anything other than pressure treated wood. Concrete is a conduit for moisture. With that said:

I would wrap by 6x6 at the level of the concrete slab (if the columns are not pressure treated) with some type of product like grace vicor or even ice and water shield. This will need the concrete from contacting the column.