Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-08-2009, 09:29 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Concrete Slab Pour - 35 Yards

I am prepping my barn to have the floor poured.

I am going to have 4000 psi concrete poured to a depth of approximately 4".

The size of the floor is 40' x 68'

My question is wether to pay the extra $210 for fiber and not utilize any wire mesh OR; forgo the fiber and do wire mesh.

My thought is to go with wire mesh as it will help keep the concrete together should (when) a crack develops.

While the fiber does increase the holding strength, it does no good after a crack has formed as there is nothing to hold the two pieces together.

Also, for a barn floor, is it necessary to put down vapor barrier.

Old 07-08-2009, 10:35 PM   #2
Concrete & Masonry

Andrew, as a contractor, I do utilize the cost effectiveness of fibers quite often, but NEVER rely on them completly. I personally hate rolled mesh, & the tetanous shots that would come with it regularily. The only time I will use mesh is when it is clearly speced, & then I will only use sheet mesh, which is about 8' by 15'. Far easier/faster to handel, but a real PITA to haul/pick-up on a daily basis. I have run the numbers many times, & always find that installing 3/8" rebar on 4' centers each way saves us time & money, & when used w/ fibers, offers a far superior re-enforcement in the long run. In short, fibers alone wont be sufficient IMO. Remember, with concrete, you have one opportunity to get it right. As for the vapor barrier, it depends on the use of the barn. It should cost about the same as the fiber cost for the material. In humid weather, it should cut most, if not all floor "sweating", which may be a big plus depending on the use of the barn.

jomama45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 06:06 AM   #3