Concrete Slab Load - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2011, 02:04 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 247
Rewards Points: 212

concrete slab load

Hi I am thinking of changing my roofline. There is a room added onto my house sitting on a slab. The slab is 6 inches thick but does not have a footer.

It is 6 inches of concrete sitting on top of the soil. I live in nashville tn so the winters are cold but not extreem like the northeast.

Right now the roof is a 3:12 but I am looking to change it to an 8:12. So the slab will be bearing more load on the edge. This roof will be sitting atop a 2x4 wall.

I am wondering if the slab will start breaking on the edge or if I have nothing to worry about because after all... it is conctete and concrete is strong. Here are some pics of what I got right now

If you could picture the roof going from the front all the way to the back and do away with the compound pitch
Attached Thumbnails
concrete slab load-roof-008.jpg   concrete slab load-roof-010.jpg   concrete slab load-roof-011.jpg  


bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 12:53 AM   #2
Residential Designer
AndyGump's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,354
Rewards Points: 624
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump

concrete slab load

You really need to have footings and a good overall design before starting. Talk to an Architect or if too expensive a good designer in you area. From the description of work it sounds like an awful lot of work for a DIY project.



AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:18 AM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 4,163
Rewards Points: 3,908

concrete slab load

IN n'ville or just outside ? 1st ck w/bldg permit/const office to see what you need,,, i'm in ga & some parts down here don't care while others ***** & moan if you lop off a tree limb ( guess where my bride, nagzilla, wants to live ) w/o a permit,,, you won't be adding a lot of static weight.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locating Waste Pipe Under Concrete Slab stubits Plumbing 6 03-10-2010 10:55 PM
Concrete slab to foundation work tntgarv Building & Construction 3 02-28-2010 01:23 PM
How to install conduit in concrete slab mthabault Electrical 4 02-24-2010 11:57 AM
Basement Garage with Concrete Slab: To Vent or not to Vent N-GA-Homeowner Remodeling 3 05-29-2009 07:13 AM
PVC underneath the floor (concrete slab) massimo Building & Construction 6 11-19-2008 11:37 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts