Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 06:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Slab


Hi, We are having a house built and the concrete slab was poured. There are a couple of spots that don't look right to me - you can see gravel in a couple of spots around the perimiter of the slab (as part of the slab). Also, there is a floor outlet that in in the slab and instead of pouring the slab with the outlet tube in it they poured the slab and then cut out a section to put the tube and then patched it over. Is this correct or should I be worried? Thanks for your opinions!

http://s1102.photobucket.com/albums/...ent=slab_7.jpg

http://s1102.photobucket.com/albums/...ent=slab_1.jpg

http://s1102.photobucket.com/albums/...ent=slab_2.jpg

http://s1102.photobucket.com/albums/...ent=slab_4.jpg

dgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:21 PM   #2
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Concrete Slab


Nothing there would scare me away.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 12:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,298
Rewards Points: 828
Default

Concrete Slab


thats awesome you are building it from scratch. where is this
federer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Slab


jlhaslip - thanks for the reply. I am hoping all is good with the slab.

federer - we are in phoenix arizona.

Thanks!
dgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 07:37 AM   #5
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,737
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Concrete Slab


In pic #1, I guess they forgot a floor outlet, what else could they do in the situation. The only thing that would concern me would be that it appears that the slab is post tensioned from pic #3. Not sure if the trench compromised the post tensioning or not.

Pic 2 Standard honeycombing at the slab edge, not the end of the world IMO.

Pic 3 Gravel buildup at form edge should have been cleaned up before pour, but doesn't appear to be a serious issue again.

Pic 4 What the slab should look like, no issues there.
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:50 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Slab


jomama45 - Thanks - you made me feel much better.

dgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locating Waste Pipe Under Concrete Slab stubits Plumbing 6 03-10-2010 09:55 PM
Concrete slab to foundation work tntgarv Building & Construction 3 02-28-2010 12:23 PM
How to install conduit in concrete slab mthabault Electrical 4 02-24-2010 10:57 AM
Basement Garage with Concrete Slab: To Vent or not to Vent N-GA-Homeowner Remodeling 3 05-29-2009 06:13 AM
PVC underneath the floor (concrete slab) massimo Building & Construction 6 11-19-2008 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.