Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-29-2008, 05:04 PM   #1
worm can opener
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

concrete slab


I have a 20'x28' basement that I would like to pour a slab in. I am wondering how I can pour and finish the slab in one shot. The only obstructions in the room our two 30"x30" footings upon which rest 8"x8" posts. I haven't checked yet but I think When I poured the footings I planned on them being flush with the slab.
I would be very greatful for either instruction or an informative link on this process.
fyi, I will have the concrete delivered.

Thanks, Frank

Wahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 06:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Rewards Points: 500
Default

concrete slab


just mho BUT - if you haven't done this before, its not a task i'd suggest trying ESPECIALLY if you want to finish the space in the future,,, its not that difficult for those who're experienced,,, for diy-er beginners, it'll be a nitemare w/o trained help, frank.

560 sf - 7cy's not a 1-man job.

yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 11:48 AM   #3
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 250
Default

concrete slab


I 2nd the above answer.

However if you have a friend "in the know" that can do this, then have him act as a foreman and get a lot of friends to come over as muscle, etc. This can be done, but think it through before you jump into it.
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 01:16 PM   #4
worm can opener
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

concrete slab


I have plenty of help, 1 or 2, who are not neccesarily "in the know" but experianced. The room will never be finished it will be storage, maybe a bit of a wood working shop. one of the main things I don't understand is how you screed with no frames?
Wahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:22 PM   #5
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 250
Default

concrete slab


Well, there is an example. From what I recall (been a long time since I worked on a basement), you mark the level line of the floor on the wall (chalked or marker or use a laser level), then you screed the concrete in small sections, as it is pooured, then screed. Picture somebody screeding, while standing in hip-waiters, in concrete. Basically, they screed, starting from the corner, where the pour starts, and work their way back towards the exit. Again, it helps to have knowledgeable peolple there.....
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 06:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Rewards Points: 500
Default

concrete slab


our easiest way would be to pound pieces of #3 bar into the base leaving 1 end at the desired elevation,,, level & rod to ck elevation,,, then conc rakes & screed the floor prior to floating & finishing,,, don't forget the jnt pattern to prevent random cracking.
yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 07:12 AM   #7
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 250
Default

concrete slab


"..our easiest way would be to pound pieces of #3 bar into the base leaving 1 end at the desired elevation.."

I wish I had done it that way years ago. Great idea!
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 08:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Rewards Points: 500
Default

concrete slab


another method's placing bkts of conc & finish to the desired elevation,,, use those for screed references,,, problem's the trk's onsite & this takes TIME,,, we only get 1 hr to dump before addl chgs start piling up.
yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 09:05 AM   #9
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

concrete slab


Yesitsconcrete has the same approach that we take. We also take a 1x2 and cut it the length of the desired ceiling height. and check by holding it from the bottom of the floor joist to the top of the pour. Also you said you planed on the 30" x 30" pads to be even with the floor. Expect to have the concrete floor crack from those outside corners. BOB

buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pouring a level concrete slab over sloped concrete Jayne Building & Construction 4 05-11-2008 09:55 AM
Extending Concrete Patio Slab bobo Building & Construction 6 04-17-2008 01:17 PM
Filling hole in carport (concrete slab) chaddihimself Building & Construction 2 08-10-2007 01:50 PM
Remodel over sloped concrete slab PSL_Hokie Building & Construction 11 07-11-2007 06:14 PM
Concrete slab weeps moisture dale h Flooring 2 04-30-2005 11:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.