Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 04:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete replacement


i hired a company to replace our steps because the shifted. they have not fully removed the old steps and want to pour over them. it is my understanding that if this is done it will likly crack. also they told me the steps sank becasue of the weight how am i assured that this will not happen again?

sabaw059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 12:53 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

concrete replacement


Of the original steps shifted due to inadequate base. If you build anew on that same base the problem would be expected to repeat. Concrete typically fails due to what's under it.

__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Keep Your Concrete Mixer Driver Happy Mort How To Guides 38 02-12-2014 07:25 PM
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 10:49 AM
Crumbling Front Porch - Part 2 - The Repair jerseyguy1996 General DIY Discussions 9 04-11-2010 07:11 AM
Filling sunken living room w/ concrete Q's phil. Building & Construction 5 07-10-2009 01:03 PM
Garage concrete and driveway asphalt repairs creamaster Building & Construction 4 07-12-2008 11:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.