Concrete Patio - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2011, 12:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete patio


I have a 14 x 14 wood single slope patio cover that I would like replaced with a hip roof. I have an issue with the patio. If you walk out my back door you step onto a 3 x 3 slab connected to the house. Then the remain 11 feet down on each side is pavestones. There is however more concrete slab to the left and right of the pavestones to make the square patio. My question is can I pour a concrete slab on top of the pre-existing slabs if I remove the pavestones to make a solid 14 x 14 slab. I have 5 inches height to the door edge.

Advertisement


Last edited by kline78; 08-07-2011 at 02:25 PM.
kline78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 02:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

concrete patio


Quote:
Originally Posted by kline78 View Post
I have a 14 x 14 wood single slope patio cover that I would like replaced with a hip roof. I have an issue with the patio. If you walk out my back door you step onto a 3 x 3 slab connected to the house. Then the remain 11 feet down on each side is pavestones. There is however more concrete slab to the left and right of the pavestones to make the square patio. My question is can I pour a concrete slab on top of the pre-existing slabs if I remove the pavestones to make a solid 14 x 14 slab. I have 5 inches height to the door edge.
If you have any frost movement the new 'coat' will likely crack along the edges of where the old concrete is.
To work around the old concrete, it will probably cost as much, as if the old concrete is removed and everything totally replaced.

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildie For This Useful Post:
kline78 (08-07-2011)
Old 08-07-2011, 03:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete patio


What if I poured 5 inches of concrete on top , used rebar attached to old slab and adhesive. I have several bids that say this would be more cost effecient than demo and pour new. I want this to last long term.
kline78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

concrete patio


Quote:
Originally Posted by kline78 View Post
What if I poured 5 inches of concrete on top , used rebar attached to old slab and adhesive. I have several bids that say this would be more cost effecient than demo and pour new. I want this to last long term.
I want this to last long term.

Then get rid of the old slab then, and pour the whole thing as a unit.
Anything else is speculative.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Keep Your Concrete Mixer Driver Happy Mort How To Guides 38 02-12-2014 07:25 PM
High Rise Building methods - US versus Oz - Steel versus Concrete Jado Off Topic 17 09-15-2011 09:47 PM
Decided to go with new concrete patio gante Landscaping & Lawn Care 0 03-20-2011 12:11 AM
Stain a large concrete patio (or paint?) ArizonaJay Painting 1 11-14-2010 02:02 PM
Extending a Concrete patio luweee Building & Construction 7 05-29-2010 06:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts