Concrete Finishing Issues - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-22-2010, 01:00 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Concrete finishing issues

I'm somewhat new to concrete work so I would appreciate any insight into the following.

I just finishing pouring a small footing for a small garden wall.
  • I find during screeding that a lot of the larger aggregate pulls out of the surface leaving an uneven and pitted surface which then has to be reworked to fill the pits. In the books and info I've found on the web the surface shown after screeding looks smooth. Am I doing something incorrectly.
  • Even when finishing after the bleedwater disappears, some of the aggregates keep pulling out leaving small pits that have to be filled. Again is this normal.
  • Finally I found when removing the forms that there was quite a bit of pitting in places where the concrete had not fully settled to form a smooth surface. I did what was suggested in the book and worked a trowel in-between the forms and concrete to remove air pockets.
I do own a concrete vibrator which I did not use on this project. Could 3 have been prevented by the use of a vibrator?

Thanks for any insight.

Advertisement

blue_can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:03 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_can View Post
I'm somewhat new to concrete work so I would appreciate any insight into the following.

I just finishing pouring a small footing for a small garden wall.