Concrete Driveway - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 05:27 PM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

concrete driveway

I,m having a new driveway installed. The old was completely removed and the new is going in in sections. There was cement left over from the first pour and it was put in the second section to a depth of about 2inches. My contractor says it's OK to just pour the other 2 inches of the second section on top of the 2 inches already there. Is that OK do do?


Last edited by Bruce Salisbury; 07-09-2011 at 05:31 PM. Reason: spelling
Bruce Salisbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
concretemasonry's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,971
Rewards Points: 2,430

concrete driveway

No way. That is just not the right thing for a constractor to do.

It is his fault since has already proven he does not know how to order.

How do you know if he even had enough brains to order the right mix?


concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
Bruce Salisbury (07-10-2011)
Old 07-10-2011, 06:33 AM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 4,163
Rewards Points: 3,908

concrete driveway

depends - how soon was/will the 2nd section be placed ? IF it was less than an hr AND the old could be safely consolidated the new conc, i might agree & think dick might also,,, the manner of your post suggests otherwise - if so, see dick's answer
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stadry For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (07-10-2011)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrete Driveway - Asphalt Over Top? mark2741 Building & Construction 1 03-22-2011 04:42 PM
3" gap between concrete driveway and garage floor need to fill frankrizzo Building & Construction 0 11-23-2010 09:08 AM
3" gap between concrete driveway and concrete garage floor - help! frankrizzo Flooring 0 11-23-2010 09:07 AM
Should concrete driveway slab be thinner on the edge by the forms? Studly Building & Construction 6 09-14-2009 10:24 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts