Concrete Contractor Licensing, Ins, Bonding Rqts In SC - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-21-2011, 01:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 29

Concrete contractor licensing, ins, bonding rqts in SC

I'm new to SC, so I don't even know who to ask this question. So I'll ask it everywhere I can think of!

I'm a homeowner who needs to break up a 15'x14' concrete slab outside my back door, so I can install a new larger slightly deeper one that can become a foundation for a flagstone patio.

What kind of licensing, insurance, and bonding requirements must a local concrete contractor have, in South Carolina, and Anderson County in particular?

I don't even know if contractor reqts are established in SC at the state or local level.

Advertisement

tomseeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:18 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,468

state AND local,,, sc finally caught up to the rest of the country there is no reciprocity between sc & ga however, w/approval & paying off the locals [ buying a biz license ], a florida contractor can work,,, licensing is rqd - insurance & bonding is not.

YOU, on the other hand, as king of your castle, can pretty much do anything you want,,, go rent a bosch breaking gun ( the big one - 60# ),,, plug it in & break away to your heart's content,,, asking at your local bar-b-q stop will probably find some good guys,,, been a few yrs since i worked up there but also suggest you call the local conc plant for recommendations,,, don't be surprised at pricing - you usually get what you pay for

Advertisement

stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 09:50 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

City or county?

Things are pretty lax in our part of the country.