Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2010, 06:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


I'm getting ready to build my garage finally! I want to lay a row of 6" blocks around the perimeter of the slab to keep the walls up and away from moisture. Some say that I should lay them 2 high instead of one, for more strength. Why wouldn't one row be strong enough? They will be anchored to the pad with the appropriate anchor bolts. Any advice?

bushmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 07:13 PM   #2
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,755
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


No need to go more the one block high.

Technically, the 6" block is stronger than the wood frame above, but the added strength is not needed.

Around here, block stem walls are commonly used and the block are laid up to about 8 " above the planned slab elevation. This allows the anchor bolts to start below the slab level and then project through the sill plate and hold everything together and resist uplift. After that, a 4" a floating slab can be poured and sloped for the desired drainage (flat, to the overhead door or to a floor drain). The floating slab can be put in after the garage is enclosed and the weather is under control. The slab has wire and is air entrained because of the temperatures and salt droppings.

You are smart to have the block curb because it makes it easy to sweep out or hose and wash out and get the wood above the soil without collecting water around the garage.

Dick

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 07:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


I plan to just pour a floating slab on grade and lay the blocks on the slab afterwards. It's all approved with the building inspector so that part is good to go. I just wanted some opinions about using 1 row instead of 2 as some fella's have told me to do. Thanks for the reply!
bushmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 08:08 PM   #4
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 0
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


Simple logic tells me that 1 row would actually be more stable than 2. Plus you'll be hard pressed to find anchor bolts readily available for 2 courses.
jomama45 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jomama45 For This Useful Post:
bushmoose (10-17-2010)
Old 10-18-2010, 06:56 AM   #5
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,270
Rewards Points: 0
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


"I plan to just pour a floating slab on grade"
No footers around the perimeter? Not sure I would just pour a slab without footers. That's a lot of weight on that outer edge. I did my shop building, unattached to the home, this way with one course of block. Never have regretted it. We tried very hard to slope the floor from back to front towards the larger shop doors for drainage. My plans were to use a garden hose, brush, etc. to clean the floor occasionally. All that went astray when the wifey and son decided that old Dad had built them a "storage building". David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 07:10 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
"I plan to just pour a floating slab on grade"
No footers around the perimeter? Not sure I would just pour a slab without footers. That's a lot of weight on that outer edge. I did my shop building, unattached to the home, this way with one course of block. Never have regretted it. We tried very hard to slope the floor from back to front towards the larger shop doors for drainage. My plans were to use a garden hose, brush, etc. to clean the floor occasionally. All that went astray when the wifey and son decided that old Dad had built them a "storage building". David
There will be an 8" x 16" footing sloped to the floor, which will be 5" thick. I plan to run 2 course's of 5/8" rebar around the footing with 3/8" rebar 2' oc throughout the floor.
I've already given orders that it will NOT be used as storage and the sign will be up "no gurls aloud" to confirm that
bushmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:37 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 0
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


Remember the sill sealer unless you use a v.b. under the slab: http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/...-building-code

Don't extend the sheathing onto the block or it could wick moisture up into your framing. Leave a gap between sheets, awww, you know the rest.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,195
Rewards Points: 12
Default

concrete blocks on garage slab


that's a ' thickened edge ' slab also called a monopour or unipour,,, 1 row of block's fine,,, we would fill the cells w/grout

stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching Blocks to Concrete, then wall to that jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 4 07-15-2014 07:52 PM
How to cut a hole in a concrete floor slab tomseeley General DIY Discussions 7 06-10-2009 02:32 PM
Basement Garage with Concrete Slab: To Vent or not to Vent N-GA-Homeowner Remodeling 3 05-29-2009 06:13 AM
Filling concrete cinder blocks Clutchcargo Building & Construction 7 07-25-2008 06:54 AM
Garage concrete and driveway asphalt repairs creamaster Building & Construction 4 07-12-2008 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.