Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-19-2012, 03:45 PM   #1
DIY-ing for 20 years

Share |

Closed Cell Foam, plastic and air space?

Hi,

I'm a semi-longtime reader and newbie to posting. And I need some help.

This is a general construction question, so I hope I'm posting in the right section. I'm going to help some relatives with drywall next month. They have an older, small, clapboard-sided house with no obvious housewrapping on the exterior. No path for air, unfortnuately. The clapboards were nailed to wood sheathing. The inside walls were plastered over lathe boards, with older blown in insulation (actually probably poured in insulation) on 2x4 walls. Location of house is in Catskill mountains, NY.

After removing the plaster and 2" lathe pieces, they had to shovel out wet and moldy insulation.

The plan is to hire a foamer to spray on closed cell foam to a depth of 3 or 3-1/2". Next they will glue and staple on 5-6mil plastic on the end of studs. After that, the 2" lathe strips will be mounted on the studs vertcially to create an extra 2" of space. 2" strips will be put on the top and bottom plates.

After that comes the drywall.

Questions I have are: 1. Will the closed cell foam act as a water barrier for the outside? 2. Is there a chance that the 5-6 mil plastic act as a secondary moisture barrier? 3. Is there any reason to use the plastic? 4. Will the plastic stop outgassing smell?

They don't want to pay the extra to foam out the additional 2" (lathe strips). Residing the exterior isn't an option for quite some time due to cost.

Any ideas, comments, questions are welcome.

Thanks!

bokaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:26 AM   #2

Questions I have are:

1. Will the closed cell foam act as a water barrier for the outside?