Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-17-2009, 04:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Cinder block home

I live in Grainger County, TN. No building code here. I have about 8 years of general construction experience as a laborer and semi-skilled carpenter.

I have an old 24x20 (+/-) cinder block home. It seems to have been drystacked and someone filled in the seams (on the exterior) w/mortar for whatever reason. It is built on a slab that has no rhyme or reason). The headers over the windows are pretty iffy, the blocks are not filled with concrete and I don't feel comfortable simply building on top of the block. The house works for us and as I have a kid on the way I have the need to expand.

My question is this: I would like to add an open (studio type) second floor to the house. Can I simply build an exterior wall system to surround the current cinder block walls (I thought about simply running a footer system, building a 2x4 wall system up), run preengineered floor joists which will lie on those new walls and then run from there?

I would be really blessed for any input including sites I should be reading up on; I have photos of my house here and will answer/supply anything necessary. So, thank ya'll very much, in advance!

I don't have a lot of money. For most folks dropping $700 for the engineer, hiring contractors, etc. is no sweat. I make $10/hr and am raising a family so it's not an option for me.

ibrrhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 05:06 PM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Rewards Points: 2,000

Cinder block home