Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2008, 10:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Certificate of Occupancy for an upfit required?


For the basement that I am finishing, I am getting it permitted and inspected. It is considered an upfit (converting unheated to heated space). For the sake of selling the house, do I need a Certificate of Occupancy? If so, can I just get one issued once the final inspections are complete?

Indianer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 11:41 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Certificate of Occupancy for an upfit required?


In my opinion, one house should only have one certificate of occupancy. If permits are pulled for remodels or additions, it is on record if it is ever needed. It never hurts to ask the inspector if he'll issue one, but I think it is generally unnecessary.

I used to work for a jurisdiction that required us to write CO's on remodels of bathrooms, decks, etc. Drove me nuts.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.