Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-14-2008, 03:24 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Ceiling bits are falling off!!

Hi all, I'm a college student that just moved into a new apartment and am sharing a very small room with someone. I got a full size loft bed from IKEA so I could have enough room to fit my desk and dresser underneath it. In fact, all of the space in the room that belongs to me is under this full size bed. This setup would be perfect if not for three annoyances. I'm only asking for help with one of them here, but I'll list them all:

1) The ceiling to my apartment is pretty low (8 ft standard) and the stupid loft bed sits very close to the ceiling. I cannot sit up in my bed without hitting it.

2) The ceiling is a "popcorn" type, there is a chunky type of texture to it. For some reason, every time I touch (sometimes even breathe on) it, little chunks fall off and wind up on my bed. I wake up in the morning covered in white chunks.

3) The stupid bed squeaks like crazy whenever I get on it or move in it (not even talking athletics here). Whenever the bed rocks back and forth, even slightly, you can hear squeaking.

So, I plan to dismantle my bed in the future and saw off the legs to lower it. I'll ask for help on that later... but the most important problem is that ceiling. I have tried a makeshift cover with butcher paper and duct tape, but woke up in the morning with the entire sheet of butcher paper on my face (the duct tape could not adhere to the popcorn ceiling, and furthermore the duct tape just ended up pulling off the bits and not sticking)