Cedar Siding My Best Option? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-08-2008, 09:31 AM   #1
Currently living in Japan

Rewards Points: 10

Cedar siding my best option?

Hi everyone.
I'm a building amateur, but I can learn quickly. So I'm looking at redoing the outside of our house myself, or at least some of it.
We have an old 2-story house here in Japan. The exterior is a kind of concrete made on a wire mesh frame in sections. The roof is made from large ceramic tiles. And the windows/doors are all aluminum frame cheapies.
So I was trying to decide a cheap, attractive way to make it look like a new house. Vinyl siding is popular here, but it's very expensive, and I think the house will still look kind of cheap. I was thinking cedar siding would look really good, and kind of match the image we are going for. If possible, we could also cover the roof and window frames with cedar.
Since the house currently is technically OK, would it be possible to make a very thin, cheap, purely cosmetic exterior reform using cedar? I was thinking of just putting it over top all the old walls and roof, as is. Then it wouldn't even need to be weather proof. Is it possible? What would be the best way to attach it all?
If cedar is difficult, how about another type of wood?
Is this project totally impossible?
Thanks for any help!

Advertisement

TheNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 03:02 PM   #2

Any ideas?

Advertisement

Old 09-11-2008, 04:01 PM   #3
Drywall contractor

Rewards Points: 1,044