Caulking Brick - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2009, 02:12 PM   #1
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 1,018

Caulking Brick

I've caulked before, tubs etc. so I'm not a total newbie to caulking, but it's time to do the windows. Actually it was time last fall but lets not go there.

We have a brick house with aluminum windows. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions or tips to make caulking brick a little easier. I know caulk should be applied to a clean surface but is there anything I can or should use on the brick besides a stiff brush? Any suggestions on what type of caulk to use. And lastly, we have three second floor windows. Is it a major no-no to do these from the inside (also brick)?
Attached Images

Advertisement

Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 02:59 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

Caulking Brick

You want a urethane caulk. And the joint should be fairly wide to assure a good bond. 3/8" Tool with a back of a spoon. Do not tell your wife you took it from the kitchen. And yes no reason not to caulk the inside also. Clean first with windex will work also spray on joint prior to tooling. Caulk only about three feet then tool.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 10:47 PM   #3
Stuck in the 70's

Caulking Brick

Thanks for the help Bob. I was thinking a smaller bead would make less of a potential mess but that makes sense.

Except about not telling the wife.

That part's a bit difficult.

I is the wife.
Old 02-14-2009, 12:19 AM   #4

Caulking Brick

Note that Bob used the word "also" when referring to caulking the second floor windows...Meaning in addition to the outside. There's no way around doing that unfortunately.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:46 AM   #5