Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 09:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


I have a 100 year old wooden house with a brick chimney that runs from the basement right through house - it follows the rear wall of house but it is an internal chimney with just one side of the chimney an exterior wall of the house.

Currently my gas boiler and gas hot water system which are both in the basement exhaust into this chimney. Both boiler and water heater are virtually side by side and send a 6" exhaust pipe direct into the chimney.

I want to add a wood stove on the first floor - can I cut a hole into the brick chimney and exhaust this wood stove into the chimney also?

DeanPk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


If you want to be safe and follow code, you are almost certainly going to need a separate flue with a stainless steel liner in your chimney. We had to install such a liner when we added our wood stove to our existing brick chimney. In some cases, it is so expensive to add the liner that it makes more economic sense to install a separate double wall stainless steel exhaust pipe up through the house.

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,350
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


I would call a chimmney sweep to come look at this before doing anything.
Why a wood stove and not a gas fireplace, insert, or stove?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


Interesting maybe add a liner inside the chimney just for the wood stove. I have not looked in the chimney it might already have a liner for the gas exhausts - but investigating the possibility of adding another for the wood stove is a reasonable idea. Running a new flue is a great idea as I can then put the stove where I want it just about. I want wood as I like have a secondary fuel supply. If the electric goes off - which it does now and then - I lose all heat. So a wood stove would give me contingency.
DeanPk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:59 AM   #5
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


Simply put NO, a solid-fuel appliance CAN NOT share a flue with other non-solid-fuel appliances.
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:28 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


Got it - I thought it would be definitive. Can I put two stainless flue liners in a single brick chimney - one for the gas and one for the wood?
DeanPk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:01 PM   #7
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


This is interesting. You definitely need two flues, one for the wood stove, one for the gas furnace. I have the same situation, however my chimney had two flues in it. Curiously, the flue for my oil burning furnace is not lined with stainless steel, and apparently does not need to be, whereas the flue handling the wood stove does need to be lined with stainless steel. This may have something to do with the corrosive nature of the gases from the wood stove.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:33 PM   #8
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can new wood stove connect into old chimney?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanPk View Post
Got it - I thought it would be definitive. Can I put two stainless flue liners in a single brick chimney - one for the gas and one for the wood?
If they both fit, I don't see why not, but it really would depend on the size of the flue liner currently in there.

jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiling Over Painted Wood Paneling for Wood Stove Insert MegMarkR1 Tiling, ceramics, marble 2 02-07-2012 11:45 AM
How do you remove a wood stove and bricks from living room? SimpleJack Remodeling 13 08-28-2011 01:26 PM
adding wood stove to boiler flu? wombosi HVAC 7 12-14-2009 05:27 AM
Wood Stove Blower question Alan HVAC 6 11-27-2009 09:49 PM
Wood stove grate? econdave General DIY Discussions 1 01-06-2009 02:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.