Can I Move The Beams In My Attic? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Can I move the beams in my Attic?


Hi All,

I live in an A frame, on a slab. I have a very large attic, and I want to finish it, add a staircase from the main level up and use it to expand my store.

My question is has anyone ever moved the beams around that hold the roof up(im assuming thats what they do)? they are zig zagged all over the place and I want them to look like this /\
| |


instead of this /|/|/|/| . Do my silly pictures make sence to anyone?

If anyone can help that would be great!

Thanks,

Angel

Advertisement

angellahvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 11:21 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Can I move the beams in my Attic?


Pictures really help. If they are manufactured Trusses, not joists, the short answer is no. If they have metal plates holding the members together, they would be trusses. As for expanding your store, you could if you own, and only you are willing to properly pull permits and have a licensed reputable contractor do the work. That would also mean that your store would have to be closed during the expansion phase.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attic , finishing


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace is in attic, I want to move it because of efficiency issues... SimonSezz HVAC 1 01-22-2011 07:23 PM
Attic fan options P550 Roofing/Siding 1 08-22-2010 01:47 PM
Attic fan options. P550 Electrical 6 08-22-2010 01:30 PM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 03:28 PM
Attic Frost cougar01 Building & Construction 5 01-28-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts