Can I Connect A Modular Home To My Existing Stick Built Home? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 09:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I connect a modular home to my existing stick built home?


Needing to add on to our current 1300 sq. ft. home......what is the best option? We need to add at least 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. What is better? Building up, out or can I bring in a used modular home and add it to our existing structure? What would be most cost effective and give the most added square footage? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Advertisement

mememe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I connect a modular home to my existing stick built home?


You can attach a modular home to an existing stick frame building as a modular is tpically specifically built for your needs, but you mentioned used. I have to wonder where you would get a used modular section and if it will mate up to the existing. Whether new or used check with your local Building Dept. and see what standards the modular must meet, energy efficiency, seismic, high wind, etc., and then start contacting some modular companies that are approved in your jurisdiction and contact some local contractors and see what is most cost effective for what you get. Whether it is readily achievable to go up and the cost comparison to a first floor addition really depends on what you have now. On some older homes it is a lot of work to go up, e.g. sistering joists, new first floor framing to support the second floor load, basement columns, high wind strapping on the existing structure,etc., and if you are installing a stair it can take up space where you lose a room on the first floor. The above is long winded because of the variables. I suggest you see a design professional, e.g. registered architect or professional engineer for specific guidance. Good Luck.

Advertisement

TheCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,747
Rewards Points: 610
Default

Can I connect a modular home to my existing stick built home?


It would be far cheaper to just buy a larger home.
If you decide to go up you can not stay in the home until at least the second story is built and dryed.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 05:49 PM
new porch roof to existing home jscholl411 Roofing/Siding 6 10-12-2007 12:24 AM
Installing 'peal and stick' vinyl squares on top of existing .... alexz Flooring 8 02-17-2007 05:20 PM
cost of trusses vs stick built ugabulldog Building & Construction 2 10-17-2006 11:15 PM
modular home flooring problem wen Flooring 1 08-15-2005 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts