Can I Attach A Top Plate To The Central Beam Of The House? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2009, 08:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I attach a top plate to the central beam of the house?


I have a 5.5 x 7.5 beam that runs the length of the house in the basement. I was wondering if I could use the beam to frame a wall from underneath it? I was originally going to frame the wall using the joists that run perpendicular to the beam directly in front of it. I then realized that I would get a few extra inches of space if I started under the beam.

Being that I am using 2x4's I would have to create a sofit like effect with the sheetrock on the other side of the wall.

Advertisement

Leoskee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 09:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I attach a top plate to the central beam of the house?


I see no reason not to attach the top plate of your new wall to the bottom of the beam. The only thing I would watch would be cutting your studs to the exact right length or a hair shorter. If you try to pound studs in that are a hair too long, it will transfer load off the beam to your new wall.

Advertisement

__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I attach a top plate to the central beam of the house?


That makes sense. So then, what would be the margin allowed for the length of a stud to be "just right" to be nailed in?
Leoskee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 11:09 PM
Help: No place to attach top plate AlSmith Carpentry 3 05-21-2009 05:31 PM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 03:28 PM
Ridge vent leaking? Or what? Whatever1 Roofing/Siding 10 09-25-2008 07:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts