Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-09-2010, 04:43 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Built-in deck bench

So, to begin, I'm a total noob when it comes to construction design and construction in general. I have built a deck, with the help of several friends, and we had made the support posts considerably longer than they needed to be when we were burying them in concrete. Someone suggested I should build an l-shaped bench in the corner and use those posts as supports for the bench. So I added a couple more posts that I attached to the joists to make the span approximately 3' between posts.

I have a pretty good idea of how I think i should build it, but have a few questions. I will be using 3 - 2 x 6 cedar boards for the seat and 2 x 6 cross braces? that will be attached to the 4x4 with two carriage bolts. The 4x4's only sit about 1 1/2" or so away from the edge of the deck. It's been suggested that I not have the bench overhang the deck, which means the cross braces will overhang the 4x4 by only about an inch or less on the outside of the deck and then about 10" or so on the other side. Do I need to put in a brace between the cross braces attached back to the 4x4 as shown in my crude little drawing?

I've also attached what I want my bench to look like eventually, but for right now I won't be putting any trim boards around it, which unfortunately means I will be seeing the pt. Any suggestions on hiding those a little bit, like 45 degree cuts or something?

Also, any good ideas on how to support the boards on the corner post for the 45 degree cut where they come together?

Any other helpful suggestions on building this thing would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Built-in deck bench-deck.jpg   Built-in deck bench-deck-bench.jpg   Built-in deck bench-bench.jpg  

vikefan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 06:15 PM   #2