DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Building a storage building / small shop..please step in.

12K views 35 replies 12 participants last post by  Willie T 
#1 ·
So I'm going to build a shop. You could call it a storage building. I've never done anything this exact before, and I was hoping to get some constructive criticism and iron out the wrinkles before I start. I know there are many pros here that can guide me. I've done some studying on building construction and framing, and hope I have come up with something that will work.

I have drawn this in Autocad, about as exact as I could. The rendering and computer graphics may not reflect the actual finished product to a T, but it is very close. The dimensions are dead on, but it may not appear to scale.

The specifics are:

4" slab
Light frame construction with 2x4s.
Treated bottom plate all the way around.
92 & 5/8 studs on 16" centers, and a top plate with double plate.
2x10 headers
2x6 Rafters placed on 2' centers.
36" steel door
2'x3' vinyl single hung windows.
7/16 OSB sheathing for the roof deck
3 tab shingles to match my house on top of 15w felt
2x4 ceiling joists (is this OK-- do I need to go 2x6?)

The building measures 12'x16' with 1' overhangs all the way around; so actually 14'x18'. I plan to completely enclose the fascias and cornices, as you can see in the realistic renderings. Drawing the framing for this stuff would have been a nightmare, so I left it off in those shots. The inside will be left bare frame, no wall coverings or ceiling coverings.

I cannot get a 2x8 ridge beam board over 16' long at a normal hardware store lumber yard. I really wanted 18' so that I could reach from one end of the roof to the other including the overhangs on both sides. I feel like I could probably easily frame the overhang with an add on board and go with a 2x8x16.