Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 09:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


I live in Denver, CO. Last summer I had a new concrete patio poured.

This summer I would like to have built a patio cover for it. My snowload capacity should be 30.

I realize now that I should've taken the cover into consideration when pouring the patio. I really don't want to cut up the patio in order to put in footers for the patio cover posts.

I really prefer not to put the posts on the edge of the patio either (in the grass). Is there anyway I can build a patio cover without footers so the posts can be attached to the top of slab instead?

I was thinking maybe using a different type of roofing to lessen the weight. I am attaching the patio to the wall of my house. The patio size will be 15' 3" wide by 36' long. I know that I am asking for alot Any advice would be greatly appreciated Thank you!

MStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,912
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


Got a picture?
Like it or not your going to have to have some type of footing.
Unless this is a 2 story home it scares me when you suggest attaching the roof to the side of the house.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


I assume by patio you are refering to a concrete slab at ground level?

i had to do one like this several years ago. I had to cut three holes in the concrete to drop tubes into to pour footers. We were then able to erect columns to support a roof. The patio slab was able to move up and down with the frost and not affect the roof. I did the cuting with a concrete blade but, there are companies out there in bigger cities that offer this service.
danpik is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-24-2013)
Old 01-24-2013, 12:14 PM   #4
"You can do anything"-Mom
 
brockmiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 724
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


Do you have a picture of the patio and house? What are you planning on anchoring into on the house? I like Joe assume this is a two story house.
brockmiera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:30 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik View Post
I assume by patio you are refering to a concrete slab at ground level?

i had to do one like this several years ago. I had to cut three holes in the concrete to drop tubes into to pour footers. We were then able to erect columns to support a roof. The patio slab was able to move up and down with the frost and not affect the roof. I did the cuting with a concrete blade but, there are companies out there in bigger cities that offer this service.
Listen to this member---this method is the right way---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


I am so sorry, I should have said that my house is a 2 story. I have tried to post a picture but I haven't been able to figure out how. If someone could please give me some suggestions, I would gladly provide a picture of two.
MStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:34 PM   #7
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,813
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


have you tried this? How to attach a photo to a post
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:46 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


The system says that I can not post pictures. How do I change it so that I can?
MStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:06 AM   #9
"You can do anything"-Mom
 
brockmiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 724
Default

Building a new patio cover without footers


Click on the link below that says "go advanced"

Scroll down to Manage attachments

A window will pop up and you can attach pictures there.

brockmiera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patio Cover or not? greentrees Building & Construction 6 01-21-2014 09:31 PM
rebuilding a patio cover ONEMORETIME Building & Construction 4 04-15-2012 08:29 PM
15' by 15' freestanding patio cover hdfxdwg1 Building & Construction 1 04-01-2012 01:10 PM
Building raised Patio over Septic Line ChrisDIY Plumbing 5 07-08-2010 11:44 PM
Building a patio cover...span and size of lumber Q's jongordo8 Building & Construction 1 08-30-2009 12:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.