Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-08-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
szm

Share |

Building a Hot Tub and a Swim SPA

I'm planning to build a hot tub (AKA jacuzzi/spa) and a swim spa (two separate structures close to each other)

The basic structures would be made of concrete (4 or 5" thick) with tiles over it. In the hot tub I'm planning to put floor/wall heating (http://www.homedepot.ca/product/true...pending/933647).

I would like to purchase a 5HP pump
(http://www.amazon.com/Discharge-Wate.../dp/B000A4RKTK)
I would use the same pump for both structures with simple valves switching over between the hot tub and swim spa (perhaps the valves could be used in a way to distribute the pumping action between the swim spa and the hot tub)
I would put 20-25 powerful jets in the hot tub.

I have never built something like this before, therefore I thought I might ask your opinion about some of my concerns:
  1. How do the swim spas create a consistent, turbulence free current (I don't want just one or two jets pumping uncontrolled crazy beams). This is a great concern of mine, and this knowledge is a prerequisit of starting to build the swim spa.
  2. Is the heated wall/floor is a good idea with the hot tub? Should I put some special insulation to prevent heat loss through the concrete?
  3. I have a 30AMP dryer wiring (not used) close to the location where I'm planning to place the pump. Can I use this wiring to power up the pump?
Thank you

szm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:39 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

No pun intended but I think you are in way over your head here. You cannot tile to concrete and expect much and you do not buy spa parts at a box store. You should talk with a pool and spa company before you set yourself up for electrocution or worse.