Building A Front Porch And Have Questions... - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-05-2010, 05:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Building a front porch and have questions...

As the title says, I am in the process of building a 5x12 covered porch on the front of my house. I am not a contractor by trade, just a home hobbyist with a good sense of how to do things. I started the base deck and originally when I ha drew this on paper it seemed that I could get away with only 2 posts on the front and 2 on the side. I realize now that this is not going to be enough support for the roof, especially if we get snow again like this past winter. There is an almost identical porch down the road that I am looking at and they have 3 x4 posts on each side which is my new plan. The problem is, I already had the footers made and had planned to integrate them with the deck and porch support posts in 1. Now my spacing is all different and I'm wondering if it will pass inspection if I change my plan to what I am about to propose.