Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2013, 05:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mundytownship Michigan
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Building on existing 4" slab


Hello to all first timer here!
I have an existing 10'X14 'floating cement slab only 4" thick though out, reinforced with wire, with some sand add for a base. I would like to build a shed/yard tractor garage the same size on it here in Michigan.
My questions are:
6" Blocking on top of slab around perimeter ? or
Dig around & under perimeter for more thickness & some sort of footing than place blocking on new pour at outer perimeter ?
There is a existing 10'x10' shed on the slab now with its own wood flooring that will be removed & I don't think there is any cracks in the slab.
I would like to think that just mortaring & using re-bar the 6" blocks on top around the perimeter would be fine for such a small build.
Any input would be helpful.
workdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,437
Default

Building on existing 4" slab


Should be fine to just add the block on the slab for that small a building.
There's just no way to dig out for a proper footing once the slabs been pored.
Good Idea to add a row of block though to get the siding up off the slab and above grade.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 07:50 PM   #3
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,588
Default

Building on existing 4" slab


some rebar into the slab wher the block is would be a good idea to tie it togehter
woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mundytownship Michigan
Posts: 5
Default

Building on existing 4" slab


Thanks Joecaption thinking the same, might even add other course of blocks.
workdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pouring new concrete around existing slab on grade. Supercontinent Concrete, Stone & Masonry 1 06-19-2012 11:20 AM
Need help setting shower drain in existing slab drain hole! deedeedeeIY Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 9 05-11-2012 09:39 AM
New construction on existing steel building burton Building & Construction 6 03-30-2010 03:22 PM
Best way to attach low level deck to existing concrete slab. fulghumd Building & Construction 4 03-11-2010 06:45 PM
Building on existing concrete slab JimSpokane Building & Construction 2 07-22-2009 01:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.