Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2008, 09:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Building to code?


Hi Their,
I'am building a 24'x40' Car Port and I'm using 6"x6" Treated Posts (6x6x16) sunk in the ground 3' with a footer at the bottom and rest with concrete to a foot above the ground and tapered around the pole to shed any water. Beams are going to be spaced apart every 10' and bolted to the 6x6 posts (I will cut out an 'L' slot on top of the posts) with (2)2x12x10' glued and nailed together. Using 10' sections to make it easier to work with just 2 people. So their will be (4) 10' sections of (2) 2x12x10' beams bolted (2-bolts per end) to each posts on each side. Now the roof will be constructed with (21) Standard 24' Trusses with a 4 in 12 pitch, spaced 2' on center with a 2' foot over hang, 1/2" OSB, 30lb felt,3 tab shingles will complete the roof. Ok, so I went to local lumber yard with my plans in hand, talk to engineer at the truss plant and he said that (2)2x12x10' will be ok for the roof system I'm going to use. But when I went to get the Building Permit the inspector who will be inspecting my Car Port said that I needed (4)2x12x10' beams!!!. Who's right...an engineer or a person(non-engineer) who just reads the code book...and is going to either pass or fail ur project!!!. BTW I'm just a home owner wanting to do the right thing by getting the Permit.

jbmike7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:02 PM   #2
Crabby Bastard
 
terri_and_jj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Building to code?


Rule #1 - the inspector is always right
Rule #2 - if someone tells you different, see rule #1

the engineer might be correct in saying that 2 is all you need for it to support the load, but if your local building code requires 4, than you better just whip out the check book and order 4. you won't win this battle so don't risk getting on his bad side, it will end up costing you a lot more than a couple extra trusses


Last edited by terri_and_jj; 03-02-2008 at 11:12 PM.
terri_and_jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Building to code?


Funny u should say that!!!...same thing my wife said!!!. But, really now isn't (4) 2x12's a little overkill?. Three(3) maybe....but (4) 2x12's!!!. Give me a break.
jbmike7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
national building code book smallcrpt General DIY Discussions 2 11-13-2007 07:09 AM
A steel building that doesn't look like a steel building? MMW Building & Construction 1 06-11-2007 04:24 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
sewage building code for home owners aokss Plumbing 9 09-11-2006 06:37 PM
International building code and permits rforsha Building & Construction 4 08-28-2006 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.