Build House On Existing Concrete Slab - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-21-2014, 03:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Build house on existing concrete slab

Hi!

I am planning on building a house on an existing foundation from a previous building that had burnt down. I am new to DIY house construction, so am looking for some general advice and guidance, as well as some good starting points for where I can begin my research.

Here are the details of my existing foundation:
- It consists of 3 concrete slabs, and a gravel portion which is surrounded by concrete support blocks
- 2 of the concrete slabs are laid on either side of the third, and are about a foot vertically higher than the third
- All the concrete slabs are flat with no wall on the perimeters
- The gravel portion is adjacent to the lower concrete slab in the middle
- The center, lower slab contains rebar
- The side, higher slabs were poorer quality additions with cement poured directly on river rocks and no rebar, to my knowledge
- The support blocks extend into the ground only by about 6 inches
- The support blocks have a piece of connecting rebar coming out the top
- None of the poured cement foundation has connecting rebar extending out the top
- The total foundation area is about 572 square feet
- The foundation does not have any visible cracks

House plan:
- The house will not be very large (as per the square footage)
- The first floor will be raised above the cement foundation such that there is a crawl space underneath
- There will be "one and a half" floors, with one section of the house being a high-ceilinged open room, and the other side having a second level loft.

Initial questions:
- Is using an existing foundation that had been through a fire safe to begin with?