Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-04-2008, 12:40 AM   #1
1921 Sears&Robuc

Rewards Points: 75
Question

Broken roof truss/support help needed please! Pictures included!

Hey I was in the attic the today and noticed a cross beam broken/cracked in half, by my assesmnet it is a cross support for the roof truss's that stands atop parallel load bearing walls. I have inclosed a image I made up of the broken beam, and need some suggestions as to how to or what to do as a do it yourselfer!

I am not an artist, there fore do not insult me for my non-artistic value, it is mearly just something to give you a better idea as to what I am talking about!

In the image i have made up you will see the main structure of the home in black, and you will see the upstairs load bearing walls in red, and the green beam is the cross beam i am speakign in reference to! This beam is cracked about half the length of the width of the span (@14ft from load wall to load wall)

Now simple math tells me the one out of 24 of these beams is not going to hurt that much, but I would rather go ahead and resolve the problem now then wait till a foot of snow up thier and it fall in to find out I was wrong in my calculations!

This beam is a true 2"X4" beam, and it is not only cracked but seperated if that makes sense to you, at the west side of the beam their is as much as a 2 1/2 inches gap in the center of the 2x4, to about half the span where the gap closes to 0"s this is a main entry into the attic/crawl way. I also have noticed that thier isnt anything tying these beams to the roof trusses above, shouldnt thier be a vertical tie, connecting the leanto's/roof trusses to this beam? This is a 86 yr old house maybe they didnt know to use vertical ties back then! lol! I believe i will add them later in time but right now i do need to deal with the broken beam at this minute!