Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-29-2013, 02:17 PM   #1

Share |

Bricking a house that already has siding

Hello all,
I am a homeowner not a professional contractor, but I need some help and advice please. I am about to undertake having my home bricked (it currently has siding) I was told we need a freeze board that brick goes behind for the last course close to the soffitt. That requires a facia board, bed molding etc from understanding. Would this product work in lieu of the freeze board?
http://www.exteriorsolutions.com/p-2...nyl-8pack.aspx

I see several benefits from it due to not having to paint, no rot, and there's only one piece to install instead of several.

Any other tips, hints, pitfalls to look at for would be greatly appreciated. I have a good mason who did the foundation and steps for me when we built in 05 (wanted to brick then, but wife wanted siding like her parents ) so I trust his work. Just need some extra guidance on certain things. He'll be doing the addition to footer and tying it together with rebar. Thanks in advance

Last edited by RobertSC52; 04-29-2013 at 03:38 PM. Reason: fixed link
RobertSC52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 02:48 PM   #2
Roofmaster

Was your foundation built with 12 inch block with a shelf angle to take the dead load of brick? Building with brick has to be considered when poring the footings and the foundation wall. Im sure you must know this but just thought id throw it out there. If it was, you need secondary protection on the sheathed wall, proper flashing and weeps at the base, cleanout of the cavity space, and wall ties installed as you go up every 4th course.

jagans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 02:53 PM   #3
Exterior Construction

Bad link.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 02:54 PM   #4

Quote: