Breaks In Top Plate - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2011, 10:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaks in Top Plate


I'm framing walls in my basement and had a quick question about where to break top and bottom plates. For long walls I had heard that you should break plates on a stud. The problem is I'm building and raising the walls myself.

So I was wondering if it was ok to build the walls in 2 sections and join them with a double stud at the break so I can raise and secure them separately?

If I do break the plates on a stud, is it ok to break both the bottom and top plate on the same stud, or should I stagger and break them on separate studs?

If I break the plates over a stud, is it ok to break it over a window? All of my walls will be non-bearing, so only a single top plate and 2x4's on edge for headers.

Advertisement

Tarheel4985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:23 AM   #2
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaks in Top Plate


You're fine with breaking the plates in the middle of a bay.

I would not use a double stud.( it messes up your insulation width and can reek havoc with your sheetrock layout)

Cut your plate midway in a bay.
Make your top & bottom breaks in the same bay.

If you're framing at 16" oc, cut a 14-1/2" block to mend the plate from the underside and the topside of the shoe.

Try not to break over a window or a door

Small sections are much easier to handle. Snap lines on the floor & ceiling and fasten your plates securely to both and there shouldn't be a problem.

Good luck

Advertisement


Last edited by tcleve4911; 02-21-2011 at 10:29 AM.
tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaks in Top Plate


I've done the double stud method making sure to keep the second wall stud back from the edge of the plate. this allows pulling the plates tight when fastening into the first wall stud. stud layout continues from original spot not new stud and as above try not to break over windows or door openings.
__________________
The older I get the better I was

Last edited by tpolk; 02-21-2011 at 10:41 AM.
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:03 AM   #4
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaks in Top Plate


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
stud layout continues from original spot not new stud

So is the next bay 13" wide vs 14-1/2" ?
tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP PLEASE replacing rotted sole, top and bottom plate dolson Remodeling 4 04-16-2010 07:54 PM
Replacing Section of Sole Plate RM575 Carpentry 3 03-28-2010 10:31 AM
Double sole plate how-to? HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 19 03-24-2010 02:43 AM
Getting Steel Plate Flush with Concrete Floor MrBill_DIY Flooring 7 11-29-2009 09:54 AM
OK to drill holes in top plate to run conduit? troll5501 Carpentry 4 05-11-2008 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts