-Blocks- - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2006, 12:23 PM   #1
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


can someone tell me how many blocks i would need for a 35x30 building and its gonna be 15ft high. imput greatly appreciated!

Advertisement

Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 02:14 PM   #2
PRO
 
Glasshousebltr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

-Blocks-


2200 8x16s

Bob

Advertisement

__________________
glasshousebuilder.com
Glasshousebltr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 10:28 PM   #3
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


how do u calculate this?
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 11:02 PM   #4
General Contractor
 
joasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 876
Rewards Points: 500
Default

-Blocks-


math works everytime...you can go the long way...wall length X height = square feet, then the .88 sq/ft/per block.....- windows, doors, FO's, and allow for corners.
joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 11:11 AM   #5
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


im having a 9x10 garage door and a regular walk-through door? how would i calculate that?
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 11:24 AM   #6
PRO
 
Glasshousebltr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

-Blocks-


Knock off 90 for the garage door and 20 for the entry.

49 sticks of vertical rebar 32" OC in filled stretchers, filled corners.

I'd start with 100 bags of 50lb morter and figure my use for a second delivery.

Because your headed up 15 feet, it might not be a bad idea to use block wire.

Bob
__________________
glasshousebuilder.com

Last edited by Glasshousebltr; 06-04-2006 at 11:33 AM.
Glasshousebltr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 11:33 AM   #7
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


so that would be 2090 thanx and by the way i got my floor poured for my garage yesterday i gotta give it time to set and it was pretty warm last nite lol it should be ready to set blocks on by tomorrow or tuesday
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 05:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

-Blocks-


You'll also need to add more blocks if the 15 feet height you mention is the finished height above grade.

Remember that you need 6 more courses or more below grade depending on frost depth or whether there will be a basement below the structure.
manhattan42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 06:22 PM   #9
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


nah this just 1 story no basement and the floor is 6inches thick so its good and strong to hold it...
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 09:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

-Blocks-


A 6" slab is inadequate as a footer in most locations for a block structure of this sort, especially if you live in a high seismic zone and are subject to freezing.

What state? What County?
manhattan42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 05:45 PM   #11
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


haha kentucky, usa; and 6inches is adequate enough to hold my truck so well its to late to change anything because i already started blocking it i got about 5 feet of block on it now so
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 07:24 PM   #12
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

-Blocks-


ive got it all blocked now ive worked day and night now i just gotta wait 4 weeks for my garage door and entry door, lowes doesnt carry 9x10 heres so they had to order it.
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 12:00 AM   #13
renovations
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 250
Default

-Blocks-


So how many blocks did you use? Show us some pics.
Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 08:07 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

-Blocks-


It is a code violation to not install proper footings in Ketucky.

Kentucky uses the International Residential Code 2003 statewide.

Without proper footings installed below frost level, this building will remain unstable.

Sorry.

Advertisement

manhattan42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAC or standard CMU blocks oar Building & Construction 3 06-10-2008 07:43 AM
Glass or acrylic blocks ? amakarevic Building & Construction 2 03-31-2008 07:14 PM
Blocks or poured concrete for round tower? silverfrost1 Building & Construction 7 07-13-2007 10:27 PM
What am I doing wrong on these blocks?! joeyboy Building & Construction 26 06-01-2007 02:15 AM
title over cinder blocks micheleb General DIY Discussions 2 03-22-2005 05:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts