Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-01-2010, 03:53 PM   #1

Share |

Blind/False valley vs. True valley for dormer

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to work out all the details on a dormer project, and I keep coming up with different thoughts and obstacles. (Now I'm wondering if I'll lose the bid to a professional....)

Anyway, what do you guys prefer, or think is better, false valleys or true valleys? Any difference in strength? To me, the ridge deading into the sheathing on a false valley seems strange, but then again I'm not a professional.

What do you guys think?

Joe

Joe1. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 04:00 PM   #2
Framing Contractor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe1. View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm trying to work out all the details on a dormer project, and I keep coming up with different thoughts and obstacles. (Now I'm wondering if I'll lose the bid to a professional....)
What doers that mean? I thought this was your own house.

Quote:
Anyway, what do you guys prefer, or think is better, false valleys or true valleys? Any difference in strength?
If you are going to have a cathedral ceiling you need true valleys. If not you frame a false valley. Strength is not the issue for the width your talking about for your dormer.

Quote:
To me, the ridge deading into the sheathing on a false valley seems strange, but then again I'm not a professional.

What do you guys think?
False valley are framed every day. You put a block underneath where the ridge sits.

Old 08-02-2010, 04:34 PM   #3

Hey Joe,

Thanks for the reply. I was just joking about 'losing the bid'. It's our house, but my father would like to have these dormers finished soon so he can have a new roof done. If I don't seem certain about everything, he may not let me take a shot at doing it.