Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-25-2008, 11:04 PM   #1

Share |

black shadows/stains on walls

Looking to buy home (2003 stick built) there are black shadows or stains along the ceiling/wall lines. On west end (interior) I can see the outline of the End Gable truss. There are long streaks on some walls and black shadows on ceiling. Where ever pictures were hung, there appears to be some bleeding as well. I am a contractor in the Manufactured home industry and have seen Mold. This, I just don't under stand. Shadows and or stains are on interior and exterior walls. I do plan on getting a Home Inspection done, however, I am looking for knowledge on the many possibilities. Thanks Larry

gaylew44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 11:30 PM   #2
DIY'er

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaylew44 View Post
Looking to buy home (2003 stick built) there are black shadows or stains along the ceiling/wall lines. On west end (interior) I can see the outline of the End Gable truss. There are long streaks on some walls and black shadows on ceiling. Where ever pictures were hung, there appears to be some bleeding as well. I am a contractor in the Manufactured home industry and have seen Mold. This, I just don't under stand. Shadows and or stains are on interior and exterior walls. I do plan on getting a Home Inspection done, however, I am looking for knowledge on the many possibilities. Thanks Larry
Smoke damage? Could there have been a fire somewhere in the structure?

Have any photos you can post?

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 12:36 AM   #3

Josh-I'm real OK, I'm not your son!!! If you believe the house is trashed, then explain your reasoning-If not shut-up
Old 09-26-2008, 12:47 AM   #4